top of page

Vermont Driver Restoration Day Pilot Program, March 20th

A Driver’s Restoration Day event co-organized by Governor Shumlin and Chittenden County State’s Attorney T.J. Donovan will take place on March 20th at the Costello Courthouse (32 Cherry Street) in Burlington between 8am and 4:30pm. This is an opportunity for low-income Vermonters in the 5 pilot counties with civil fines to get caught up and get their driving privileges reinstated for just $20/ticket. The hope is that delinquent Vermonters whose licenses are suspended can use this program to get back on the road lawfully, safely, and at a price they can afford. Vermont residents of Chittenden, Franklin, Grand Isle, Lamoille, and Washington counties are eligible to participate. Tickets must be 75 days delinquent. Credit, debit, or bank check/money order accepted; no personal checks or cash. See below for more information:

What is Driver Restoration Day? On March 20th 2015 the Chittenden County State’s Attorney’s office in collaboration with the Department of Motor Vehicles, the Judicial Bureau and the Agency of Transportation will hold a Driver’s Restoration Day. The purpose of this program is help people who have delinquent traffic tickets get their license reinstated by accepting $20 per delinquent ticket. The goal is to reduce the number of suspended drivers and improve the safety of our roadways by encouraging people to drive fully licensed and fully insured. When and where is Driver Restoration Day? Driver Restoration Day will take place on Friday, March 20, 2015 from 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. at the Costello Courthouse, 32 Cherry Street, Burlington. Court is in session from 8:00 AM to 4:30 PM. There are no appointments, and given the level of interest in the program individuals should expect long wait times. Who qualifies for Driver Restoration Day? Any Vermonter who resides in Chittenden, Franklin, Grand Isle, Lamoille, and Washington counties who has had their license suspended due to a failure or inability to pay traffic tickets or fines. Tickets must be delinquent; meaning a ticket is more than 75 days past due and has not been forwarded to a collection agency. People whose current suspension is a result of a DUI or certain other serious offenses are not eligible for this program. How Does Driver Restoration Day work? Eligible Vermonters will be able to get their license reinstated by paying $20 per outstanding ticket. If an individual has five tickets, they’d need to come with $100 in order to get their license reinstated.

For more information on the program and answers to other questions, click here.

3 views0 comments


Please visit our new Housing & Homelessness Alliance of Vermont website at!

bottom of page